GENERAL MANAGER

A HOSPITALITY PROFESSION

General presentation of the profession

The General Manager is in charge of the recruitment and training of their team of housekeepers, maids, laundry supervisors and team-members, valets (linen sellers, florists, dry cleaners). They draw up the schedules; organise and monitor the tasks of the entire team on a daily basis, ensuring compliance with health and safety regulations. They monitor the monthly budgets, manage the purchases and the administration of linen and uniforms, products for reception and maintenance. They check invoices and authorise expenses.

The keys to success at this job

– They draw up the specifications, contracts and subcontracts for the cleaning of public places and rooms.
– They may participate in renovation projects of rooms and public places and set quality standards.

Required Skills

To carry out the tasks entrusted to them, the General Manager must be organised and rigorous. They know how to enforce high standards on the quality of the service provided by the chambermaids and laundry team, while maintaining a calm working atmosphere. They are perfectionists, customer-orientated and know how to carry out their responsibilities. They master the communication codes to do with both the welcoming of customers and the supervision of teams under their authority. They are able to effectively deal with the unexpected. A good general knowledge and the common practice of a foreign language are important recruitment criteria.

Prospects

In luxury hotels, the General Manager can become the main housekeeper and have a team of floor keepers under their supervision. The skills acquired with experience also mean they could go on to occupy the position of Accommodation Manager in a luxury hotel, a health organisation or a holiday centre.

Salary range

From €2,200 to €3,500 (gross monthly).

WHERE ARE THEY NOW?

Jerome Ayala
EB & MBA

“I am currently on a professional mission as part of my dissertation on the development of sales and new technology.”

Elise Lu
EB & MBA 2

“After various experiences in the luxury sector, including the Parisian hospitality trade, I decided to take off for the Mediterranean society”

Gouvernant(e) Général(e)

un métier de hôtellerie

Présentation générale du métier

La gouvernante générale, est chargée du recrutement et de la formation de son équipe de gouvernante, femmes de chambre, lingères et équipiers, valets (lingères, fleuristes, teinturières). Elle élabore les plannings ; organise et assure le suivi au quotidien des tâches de l’ensemble du service, contrôle le respect de l’hygiène et de la sécurité. Elle suit mensuellement les budgets, gère les achats et la gestion du linge et des uniformes, des produits d’accueil et d’entretien. Elle contrôle les factures et les dépenses du service.

Les clefs de la réussite à ce poste

– Elle élabore le cahier des charges pour les lieux publics et les chambres dans le cadre d’un contrat de nettoyage en sous-traitance.
– Il peut lui arriver de participer aux projets de rénovation des chambres et des lieux publics ; de mettre en place des standards de qualité.

Compétences requises

Pour mener à bien les tâches qui lui sont confiées, le gouvernant d’hôtel doit faire preuve d’organisation et de rigueur. Il sait se montrer exigeant sur la qualité du service effectué par les femmes de chambres et les lingères, tout en entretenant une ambiance de travail sereine. Perfectionniste, il a le sens du service et sait assumer ses responsabilités. Il maîtrise les codes de communication qui régissent aussi bien l’accueil de la clientèle que l’encadrement des équipes placées sous son autorité. Il est capable de gérer efficacement les imprévus. Une bonne culture générale et la pratique courante d’une langue étrangère sont des critères de recrutement non négligeables.

Débouchés

Au sein d’établissements de grand standing, le gouvernant d’hôtel peut devenir gouvernant principal et avoir sous sa responsabilité une équipe de gouvernants d’étage. Les compétences acquises avec l’expérience permettent également d’occuper un poste de directeur d’hébergement dans un hôtel de luxe, dans une structure dédiée à la santé ou dans un centre de vacances.

Fourchette de rémunération

Fourchette : de 2 200 € à 3 500 brut

QUE SONT-ILS DEVENUS ?

Jerome Ayala
EB & MBA

« Actuellement, je suis en mission professionnelle dans le cadre de ma thèse « L’évolution du commercial et des nouvelles technologies »

Elise Lu
EB & MBA 2

« Après diverses expériences dans le luxe, hôtellerie parisienne notamment, j’ai décidé de prendre mon envol pour le club méditerranée »